Writers: Don’t do NaNoWriMo. Please. Don’t do it.

Intéressant. L’an dernier, j’ai fait le NaNo. Je n’ai jamais aussi mal écrit de ma vie …..(en fait, peut-être pas, mais le problème était : les autres participants et la « course aux mots ». ) en gros, si tu écris, écris chaque jour …mais toute l’année!

www.seanmunger.com

broken typewriter

Let’s say you’re a writer. Perhaps you’re starting out for the very first time hoping to write that novel you’ve been dreaming about for a long time. Maybe you’ve had some writing experience but haven’t really taken the plunge. Today is October 16, and in a few weeks, on November 1, an event that is ostensibly custom-made for you will begin: National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). As a writer myself, I have a simple piece of advice for you.

Don’t do it. Don’t do NaNoWriMo.

Before the writers in my audience go to their WordPress readers and unsubscribe my blog, before they unfollow me on Twitter or un-like all my articles, before they send a mob of peasants with torches and pitchforks to hunt me down for speaking this blasphemy, let me explain. Just hear me out.

I believe that NaNoWriMo is a net negative for new writers. I think…

View original post 1 833 mots de plus