Cursed Child, Take One

Voilà un avis qui me plaît assez bien – Surtout lisez les commentaires: très réfléchis! (spoilers pour ceux qui n’ont pas lu Cursed child)

The Harry Potter Companion

I have to be honest, I’d been dreading Harry Potter and the Cursed Child ever since I heard it was being released. I’ve grown increasingly disenchanted with Rowling since Deathly Hallows was released nine years ago – she’s continued to meddle and insist on controlling this world and these characters that now feel like they should belong to us. I stopped following Pottermore altogether after several of her posts there felt poorly conceived, contradictory, and in some cases just plain culturally insensitive. I was worried that this play/script would exacerbate some of these problems.

I finally broke down and read it today, though. And, I’ll be honest, mostly enjoyed it. It has some huge problems – the main villain in particular is cringe-worthy both in how they are drawn and in their resolution at the end. And there are some big gaps in the storytelling that read like bad fanfiction. But overall…

View original post 91 mots de plus